On Spirit

Jayne.Press
2 min readJul 21, 2022

Deepak Chopra and Leonardo da Vinci on spirit and art

Photo by Zugr on Unsplash

Meditation is the progressive quieting of our mind, until we reach the source of thought, which in wisdom traditions are the realm of our soul and spirit. In this domain of awareness there is infinite creativity, synchronicity, the power of intention, and freedom from limitations.

Deepak Chopra

Is the source of thought the realm of soul and spirit. Is the well is also considered the source of thought which is the realm of soul and spirit? Furthermore in this context, is it a spiritual journey for artists to seek the well? So is writers block not just the inability to write? Is is a disconnection from soul and spirit, from source of thought?

Where the spirit does not work with the hand, there is no art.

Leonardo da Vinci

Leonardo da Vinci speaks on how the spirit must work with the hand in order to create art. So could we say that da Vinci would call the process of creating art a spiritual act?

When I create sometimes I’m working to get it done. But the most rewarding times are when I feel connected to my art in a deep way. Not just because my art represents personal parts of me. I’m connected in a deep way because it feels like I’m not alone in my work. That’s when my work is transformed from simply getting it done, to becoming a safe place for those who are willing to travel its depths.

If you enjoyed this read, don’t stop here, follow the link below to learn more about your creative freedoms.

--

--

Jayne.Press

A writer and sensitive realist who takes risks with the intention of progress